Posted On June 14, 2014 by Print This Post

If You Like to Mind Travel with Outlander, Try These! Amy Alessio, Reader Roundup

Amy AlessioWith the premiere of the Outlander series coming to the US early August, I decided to find other time traveling Highlander themed titles. Gabaldon’s series is unique, but you may enjoy these also!

 

 

 

 

beyond highland mistBeyond the Highland Mist is the first of Karen Moning’s Highlander series. After brash Adrienne is sent back to the 16th century, she finds alpha Scottish Laird Hawk. Adrienne does not trust handsome men after a bad experience in her own past, and Hawk does not trust women either. These two overcome lots of roadblocks in addition to being from different times to find each other in this popular author’s first book.
thirty nightsMelissa Mayhue’s Daughters of the Glen series begins with Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband. After donning an antique pendant, Caitlyn is surprised to find 13th century Connor in her bedroom, offering a deal. She is to be his husband for a short while, help him to save his sister, then be allowed to return home. But she becomes trapped back in the past, though she comes to really enjoy life with this Scottish warrior.
dance through timeLynn Kurland’s MacLeod family series starts with the time travelling trip of Elizabeth Smith from 1996 New York to 1311 Scotland in A Dance Through Time. Elizabeth wakes up from a nap in 1996 to find herself in the laird’s keep, only to realize this man has been in her dreams.
dark swordsDonna Grant’s Dark Swords series began with Dangerous Highlander. Lucan MacLeod has hidden away for three hundred years to protect people from the vengeful god locked inside him. Cara can’t believe the dark superstitions surrounding the MacLeod castle until Lucan saves her from a storm she is pulled into a supernatural battle.
lairdDuncan MacDougall has been cursed to haunt his family castle for centuries, waiting for the right woman in Sandy Blair’s The Laird. Streetwise Beth Pudding is not afraid of the strange happenings in her newly inherited castle but it becomes harder to ignore the handsome ghost. Blair has many other fun Scottish heroes, including her out of print Kilt series: A Man in a Kilt, A Rogue in a Kilt and A Thief in a Kilt.
mammoth bookFans of time travel romance can revisit favorite authors and meet new ones in this fabulous anthology. Sandy Blair and other Scottish stories are included among other types of fantasy romances in The Mammoth Book of Time Travel Romance.

There are many other fun Scottish time travel series – I could likely fill another column! Is anyone traveling to Scotland this summer either physically or virtually with a book? Are there other Scottish time travelers you love?

***

Bio:Amy Alessio has enjoyed the advice of teens for over seventeen years in her work as a librarian at the Schaumburg Twp. Library in Illinois. Her first young adult mystery, Taking the High Ground, was published by 4RV Publishing. She wrote Mind Bending Mysterious Services for Teens (ALA Editions, 2013) and co-authored A Year of Programs for Teens 2 with Kim Patton. She is the 2013 Illinois Library Association Young Adult Librarian Award Winner and the Northern Illinois RWA 2013 Librarian of the Year. Information on her blog and presentations on vintage crafts and cookbooks as well as readers advisory topics can be found at http://www.amyalessio.com/.

Similar Posts:

Share Button

Reader Roundup with Amy Alessio

Discussion

2 Responses to “If You Like to Mind Travel with Outlander, Try These! Amy Alessio, Reader Roundup”

  1. Ooooh, Thirty Nights with a Highland Husband sounds awesome!

    Posted by Brooke B. | June 14, 2014, 2:55 am
  2. Excellent list Amy! I haven’t read a single one, but am headed to the library next week to see what they have!

    Thanks!

    carrie

    Posted by Carrie Spencer | June 14, 2014, 2:29 pm

Post a comment

Upcoming Posts

  • Nov 24, 2014 And They All Lived Epiloguey Ever After by Anna Campbell

Subscribe

Writer's Digest: 2013 Best Writing Websites (2013) 100-BEST-WEBSITES-2014 Top 10 badge 2012

Follow Us